Course Open
The 125th Amateur Championship

We are proud to co-host The 125th Amateur Championship in 2020 along with Royal Birkdale.West Lancashire last hosted the event

in 2009 when a young sixteen year old Matteo Manassero (Italy) who set our amateur course record of 65 strokes on his way to winning the event. The 2019 Amateur Championship took place in Ireland, and players had to be in the top 900 in the world to reserve a space - a fantastic quality field!



2020 will see us host the event again, which as one of the subscribers to the original trophy, is a huge honour. The event has been postponed and will now take place:

Sunday 23rd and Monday 24th August 2020 - Practice Days

Tuesday 25th and Wednesday 26th August 2020 - Competition Days



Entry to watch the practice and competition days is free of charge, and one of the few events you can walk the fairways with the players.



The clubhouse will also be open to all visitors to use the bar and catering facilities.


Car Park

The car park will be reserved for players only - please either park on the local roads, or we are 100 yard walk from Hall Road Train Station, and so ideal for spectators.


The first stage of the Championship involves 288 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes over both courses.

The 64 lowest scores and ties will compete in the match play stage of the Championship.

Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes, except the final which is contested over 36 holes.

The champion receives full exemptions to The Open Championship and the US Open, and by tradition, an invitation to play in the Masters Tournament.



The first Amateur Championship was held at Hoylake in 1885 where 44 players from 12 clubs contested a series of match play rounds.

Today, the championship is one of the biggest and most prestigious amateur events in the world, with 288 players competing in a mixed stroke play and match play format over 6 days. The winner secures exemptions to The Open Championship and the US Open, and by tradition, an invitation to play in the Masters Tournament.

The Amateur Championship is one of the most prestigious golf tournaments in the world and was first played in 1885 at Hoylake.

The championship has visited 22 locations throughout Great Britain and Ireland with Hoylake hosting the greatest number of times (18), followed by St Andrews (16), Royal St George’s (14), Prestwick and Muirfield (both 11).

The trophy has been lifted by some of golf’s greatest names and the record for the for number of wins is eight and held by John Ball Jr, who also became the first English-born player to win The Open in 1890.

Sir Michael Bonallack has also won The Amateur five times and the USA’s Bobby Jones won the championship in 1930 as part of his famous Grand Slam. 
Other notable names to have been crowned Amateur champion include major winners José María Olazábal and Sergio Garcia, and the current Walker Cup captain Craig Watson.

In 2018 288 players from 38 countries across the world were represented at The Amateur Championship.