Course Open


The St. Andrew’s Dinner is probably the most popular event on the ladies calendar.  Whether it’s the haggis, the bagpipes or a chance to dress up following the isolation of COVID, this year was no exception. It more than fulfilled expectations and it was lovely that it was so well supported.


Chef, Barry, with the haggis were dutifully piped in and Paula Briggs gave an Oscar-winning performance with her rendition of “The Address to the Haggis’. I'm sure I heard it scream as the dagger was plunged forth!


Lady Captain’s precis of two years in the life of the section stirred up memories of Zoom get togethers, picnics around the flagpole and the euphoria of the course beckoning to us when it reopened without a divot or blemish of any kind.


As the planned speaker for the evening had been unable to attend, she was replaced by what was advertised as a ‘musical interlude’.  This took the form of the ‘Ode to the Club’ - a poem written for our 125th Anniversary - and a compilation of songs from the Sound of Music, but with new golf-orientated words.  Martina, Moira, Alice and Linda did the Lady Captain proud and are ready to sign a recording contract!


The presentation of trophies by the Lady Captain completed what was an evening to remember and Caryl Evans concluded the evening on behalf of all the prize winners with a vote of thanks.


Trophy Winners 2021

Scratch Challenge Bowl – Mrs C. Evans

Lady Derby Challenge Vase – Ms. A. Keane

Staveley Challenge Vase – Mrs C. Evans

Nora Rawsthorne Plate – Mrs. M. Collins

Joyce Dickinson Trophy – Mrs. M. Collins

Kay Bateson Trophy – Mrs. L. Forsyth

Nora Rawsthorne Senior Veteran’s Cup – Mrs. M. Parkes

Club Champion/Dalton Trophy – Miss J. Pindar

Keizer Trophy – Mrs C. Davis

St. Andrew’s Cross & Cigarette Box – Mrs. C. Evans

June Wallace Trophy – Mrs. C. Evans

Gold Brooch – Mrs. S. Meehan

Bronze Brooch – Mrs. S. Anderson

Connell Steward Cup & Spoon – Mrs. S. Meehan

Autumn Meeting Scratch Challenge Plate – Mrs. P. Thompson

Mabel Bennett Salver – Mrs. P. Thompson

Agnes Forrester Cup – Mrs. J. Anderton