All Facilities Closed Until Further Notice (updated 24 March at 07:55)

Ladies Spring Dinner


Over 75 ladies attended the Annual Spring Dinner on Tuesday 22nd May.  MS Queen Victoria graced us with a sail past and West Lancashire Golf Club was blessed with an amazing sunset.


Following an excellent dinner, Lady Captain, Jan Owen, presented the Trophies. The Veterans’ Competition played on Tuesday 8th May and Kay Bateson Trophy presented by Mrs. K. Bateson’s daughters in 1978,  was won by Colette Connell with 37 points on a card play off from Maureen Collins. The Senior Vets’ Cup, presented by Mrs. Nora Rawsthorne, was won by Phyl Bentham with 36 points.



The First Spring Meeting was played on Tuesday 15th May.  36 cards were taken



The Scratch Challenge Bowl, presented by Mrs. T. Hughes in 1924, was won by Lorna Sharman with a gross 86 and the Lady Derby Challenge Vase, presented by the President, The Right Honourable Countess of Derby in 1899, was also won by Lorna Sharman with 86-15-71.



Silver Division Handicap Prize was won by Lesley Morris 92-15-77.


Bronze Division best gross was won by Anne Fletcher with 97 and the Bronze Handicap Prize went to June Anderton 110-36-74 on a card play off from Alexia Gilby.


The Second Spring Meeting, played on Tuesday 22nd May,  44 cards taken out.


The Staveley Challenge Vase, presented by Mrs. W. Staveley Taylor in 1892 for the best scratch score of the day was won by Rebecca McDermott with a gross 83. Rebecca also won the Nora Rawsthorne Plate presented by Mrs. F.L. Rawsthorne in 1998 for the best nett score of the day with 83-15-68.


Silver Division Handicap Prize went to Elaine Martin 93-20-73.


Bronze Divison Gross Prize was won by Chris Mitchell with 99 gross.



Bronze Division Handicap prize went to Kathie Stubbs 101-27-74.


The Joyce Dickinson Trophy, presented by Mrs. Joyce Dickinson in 1988 awarded for the best nett aggretate of the 2 Spring Meetings In all divisions, was won by Rebecca McDermott 68+81 = 149.




The Senior Vets’ Cup, presented by Mrs. F.L. Rawsthorne for the best net aggregate score over the 2 Spring Meetings, was won by Anne Fletcher 72+85 = 157.


Other ladies who collected prizes for 9 Hole Competitions over the 3 days were:-

Audrey Morton, Eileen Evans, Suzanne Martin, Sheila Walker, Jean Smith, Joan O’Hara and Eileen Townson.


On behalf of all the winners, Rebecca thanked the bar and catering staff for a most enjoyable meal and excellent service.



More “Ladies Noticeboard